Subscribe via RSS Feed Subscribe via RSS Feed Connect with me on LinkedIn Connect with me on Flickr Subscribe via RSS Feed

The WikiCauses 300 – Government/Public Affairs/Global Missions

[ 2 ] June 16, 2011 |

The first of series of posts on the top engaged Wikicauses – those not-for-profits, charities, CSR efforts and causes that demonstrate well-above the norm for stakeholder engagement, digital innovation, online community building and application of social technologies and media.

Our first set of 12 are the government, public affairs and global missions.

——————

World Economic Forumhttp://www.weforum.org/ @davos

Matthias Luefkens @luefkens Niki Tapscott @nikitapscott Anna Standertskkold @WEF_Anna

Twitter followers: 1,505m

- An independent international organization committed to improving the state of the world by engaging business, political, academic and other leaders of society to shape global, regional and industry agendas

—————

Pew Internet Project http://www.pewinternet.org/ @pew_internet

Kristen Purcell @kristenpurcell Susannah Fox @SusannahFox & Kathyrn Zickuhr @kzickuhr.

Twitter Followers – 20.1m followers

- One of seven projects that make up the Pew Research Center, a nonpartisan, nonprofit “fact tank” that provides information on the issues, attitudes and trends shaping America and the world

———————–

GovLoop http://www.govloop.com @govloop

Steve Ressler @steveressler

Twitter Followers – 8.4m followers

- Social Network Connecting Gov’t Community Passionate about public service innovation

————————

Clinton Foundation http://clintonfoundation.org/ @clintontweet

Twitter Followers – 36.6m followers

- Addressing urgent global problems through collaboration among businesses, governments, nonprofits, and private citizens

——————-

Cato Institute http://www.cato.org/ @catoinstitute

Jim Harper @jim_harper Walter Olson @walterolson

Twitter Followers – 107.5 followers

- A non-profit public policy research organization whose experts conduct independent, nonpartisan research on a wide range of issues.

————–

United Nations http://www.un.org @un

Kiyo Akasaka, Robert Kirkpatrick @rgkirkpatrick among others

Twitter followers – 306.0m followers

- An international organization whose stated aims are facilitating cooperation in international law, international security, economic development, social progress, human rights, and achievement of world peace.

————–

Peace Corps http://www.peacecorpsconnect.org @pcorpsconnect

Erica Burman @ericaburman

Twitter Followers – 5.6m followers

Nation’s leading nonprofit organization supporting Returned Peace Corps Volunteers & the Peace Corps community

—————

Taking It Global http://www.tigweb.org @takingitglobal

Michael Furdyk @mfurdyk,   Sena Hussain @senahussain

Twitter Followers: 7.0M followers

- Empowering youth to understand and act on the world’s greatest challenges – largest youth community focused on positive change in global issues

——————–

Good Intentions http://goodintents.org/ @good_intents

Saundra Schimmelpfennig

Twitter Followers: 1.8m followers

- Aid/development/nonprofits for Good Intentions are Not Enough — Because Donor Decisions Do Matter

————-

The Sunlight Foundation http://sunlightfoundation.com/ @sunfoundation

Gabriela @stereogab ,Micah Sifry @mlsif , Joshua Ruihley @jroo

Twitter Followers:  9.4m followers

- Using cutting edge technology and ideas to make government transparent and accountable

——————-

United States Department of Agriculture http://www.usda.gov/wps/portal/usda/usdahome @USDA

Amanda Eamich @amandare

Twitter Followers – 35.2m followers

- Providing US leadership on food, agriculture, natural resources, and related issues based on sound public policy, the best available science, and efficient management

—————

Healthfinder http://www.healthfinder.gov @healthfinder

Jessica Mark @jessicamarkdc

Twitter followers – 145.6m followers

- The source for reliable information from the US Department of Health and Human Services

—————

OTHER WIKICAUSES LINKS:

The Wikicauses 300 – Post II – CSR, Corporate Giving and Foundations

Wikibrands – The Book

OTHER WIKICAUSE BUZZWORTHY LINKS:

Collab0rate – If you work for or with a cause, please take our 1st annual WikiGood survey – you could win and learn stuff too – click here

Connect – join us Tuesday, June 28th for our 4th Twitter chat #wikichat covering off all the key questions people in not for profits ask – 3:00-4:30pm EST;  just use #wikichat as the hashtag and watch the insight and chaos begin

Tell Us Your Story – if you are mentioned above or think youro cause has the right wiki stuff, we’d love to profile you and interview you, let us know

Join our Wiki All-Star cast – we are recruiting 20-40 all-stars of the digital side of the not for profit landscape to be part of a collaboration identifying the best and worst practices in the industry, if interested, put your hand up

Tip Us on Others – send a message along about some of your own fave WikiCauses (and if possible let us know why and a contact) by simply commenting on this blog post below

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Category: Events, Non-profit, Wikibrand Guidebook, Wikibrands Insights

About Sean Moffitt: Managing Director, Wikibrands and President/Chief Evangelist, Agent Wildfire View author profile.

Comments (2)

Trackback URL | Comments RSS Feed

  1. [...] The Wikicauses 300 – Post I -  Government/Public Affairs/Global Missions [...]

  2. [...] Also track our posts at Wikibrands for our top 300 Wikicauses and some indepth profiles of the [...]

Leave a Reply




If you want a picture to show with your comment, go get a Gravatar.